Blue Skies, Smiling at Me.

Note: This post was intended for yesterday afternoon (4/16) , but the power went out right as I was about to post, so, here it is now for your enjoyment!

Hello!

What a warm and sunny April day.  I woke up to rays of sun seeping through the shades, warming the sheets.  What a peaceful, cozy moment.  Then the alarm sounded.  Ughhh.  Really?  Really Oy vey.

I finally dragged myself up out of bed and downstairs to greet my morning’s best friend, the beautiful Mr. Keurig.  I really do consider him  a great friend.  I’ve gotten Dustin hooked on this Mr. K too.  Not only does this wondrous machine brew a delicious cup of a wide variety of coffees, but also drips out a delicious hot chocolate.  This is particularly satisfying when that cocoa falls right into a mug of steaming hot Breakfast in Bed coffee.  One mug of this concoction and he was a believer.  I like to add  a splash of almond milk to mine… and oh boy am I in heaven then.  Okay, it’s not that good, but first thing in the morning, after getting an earful of “braynk braynk braynk braynk?” It’s pretty damn delicious.

But  today, I did not add any cocoa. I left that for Dustin.  Instead, I enjoyed the flavors of Wolfgang Puck’s Breakfast in Bed blend on its own.  Then came breakfast.  I’ve been all about the rice cakes lately.  Lightly salted Quaker cakes to be exact.  Add a teaspoon of peanut butter and mmm, mmm, mmm! Yeah, yeah, I’m exaggerating again.  But! I really do enjoy this for breakfast.  Add a piece of fruit and you have a solid breakfast – fats, proteins, carbs – complete.

Don’t you worry though, lunch gets much more exciting.  I love sandwiches, so discovering my inability to eat gluten has greatly decreased the number of sandwiches I have eaten lately.  I have always enjoyed making them, and consider myself a sandwich artisan. Dustin, my good-natured boyfriend, has kindly let me craft his lunches nearly every day, every week.  This way, I still gain some satisfaction from these lunchtime necessities.  I can inhale the aromas of the fresh veggies, the aged cheese, and the hearty proteins.  I can delicately stack them to show off their beauty and to enhance their flavors.  *Sigh*  I do wish I could have a sandwich.

Today’s special was an unusual sandwich, chosen to use up the ingredients in the fridge.  A Ball Park beef frank, thinly sliced and pan fried, topped with crisp maple bacon, fresh baby spinach, aged provolone, and finished with a swirl of mayonnaise, all placed inside a toasted stoneground wheat roll.  Talk about a gourmet hotdog sandwich!  Dustin seemed to enjoy it.

The sandwich pictured at left is NOT today’s creation, rather a brunch sandwich from the other day.  I tried my best to plate it well.  Still figuring out the whole plating thing.  Haven’t quite figured it out yet.  This sandwich was a classic fried egg sandwich with american cheese, smoked bacon, and mayo then cooked on the griddle as if making a grilled cheese.  I chose to serve it with a dish of apple sauce, sprinkled with cinnamon, and a glass of orange juice.

Ok, I’ll move beyond sandwiches (for the moment, at least!).  Remember that seafood stir-fry I mentioned a few days ago?  Pretty successful.  Check out Grace Young’s Stir Frying to the Sky’s Edge if interested in recipe information.

I found out I’m not a huge fan of cooked green peppers, so I might substitute in red ones next time.  And the shrimp tails… what a hassle.  Next time?  Peeling those suckers off before putting ’em in the wok.  I’m also not a big cilantro lover, but the limited amount in this recipe really complemented the Jamaican rum and soy sauce.  This was definitely worth trying, but was too expensive and time-consuming for the end result.   This will cross our tables again, but not for a while.  Maybe mid-summer.  The rum cocktail that accompanied the meal, however?  Delicious!  Definitely a keeper of a recipe.



Myer’s Sharkbite, adapted from Myer’s Jamaican Rum

  •  1 1/4 oz Jamaican rum (dark)
  • Orange Juice 
  • Ice
  • Grenadine
  1. Pour the rum over the ice.
  2. Fill glass with orange juice (I used Tropicana Pure Premium with some pulp).
  3. Add 1/4 teaspoon grenadine (a splash more for a sweeter drink).
  4. Squeeze a bit of lime from the wedge over the drink and  use to garnish the glass.

Tonight (if the power comes back on), we will be trying an Emily-crafted chicken stir-fry with pea shoots and carrots.

Pictures and feedback of that soon to come!

Leave a message!

