GF Chocolate Chip Cookies, Anyone?

So long wearisome Wednesday.  Hello, thrilling Thursday! Do I really think my Thursday will be that exciting?  Well, yes.  Yes, I do.  I’ll be spending my day with Ms. Vivid T, traveling around the state, looking for adventures.  Any time spent alongside Vivid T is time well spent – thrilling time well spent, in fact.  Exciting.  Mind-blowing.  Awesome.  That’s what best friends are all about.

Mmm...and they're gluten free!

You wanna know what else best friends are all about?  Sharing recipes.  You and I are friends aren’t we?  I thought so.  That’s why I’m going to share this new recipe of mine with you!


Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Ginger Lemon Girl’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/4 cup Crisco Vegetable Shortening (no trans fats!)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used family made!)
  • 1/4 cup organic raw cane sugar 
  • 2 T cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup applesauce*
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup King Arthur Flour GF Flour Mix
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/4 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 small handful GF chocolate chips (I use Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate pieces)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together Crisco and sugars until well combined (will look gritty). 
  3. Add applesauce and vanilla. 
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the flours, salt, xanthan gum, baking powder, and baking soda.
  5.  Slowly add flour mixture to Crisco mixture (a bit at a time). 
  6. Mix in chocolate chips. 
  7. Line a cookie sheet with a silpat-like mat or parchment paper (I use a pink silicone mat like this one.   
  8. Place eight spoonfuls of dough (approximately one tablespoon each) onto the mat about 2 inches apart.  
  9. Bake 9-11 minutes**
  10. Set the tray on a cooling rack and allow the cookies to cool for 20 – 30 minutes.***
  11. Store cookies in an airtight container.****

TIPS:

*I used Mott’s original sweetened applesauce. The cookies were incredibly sweet.  I’d suggest using unsweetened applesauce.       

**I have an AWFUL oven, so cooking time may vary – your best bet is to watch the first batch closely and remove when edges and top begin to brown.

***The cookies will be very soft and crumbly until they cool.  So let them cool – completely.  I mean it.  Think of this as an exercise in practicing patience.  You can do it.   

****My cookies only lasted a few days before they were gone.  But! They were just as delicious, if not more so, on day 3 and day 4 and day 5 as they were fresh out of the oven.  

Fresh from the oven goodness.

Look at that melted chocolate.  You can see how quickly the cookies mysteriously disappeared.  I think there might be six left on this plate… there were eleven maybe thirty minutes before this photo.  Where did they go?  Oh, Dustin, I didn’t see you come in.  What’s that you’ve got there in your hand?  A cookie?  Oh, sorry – four cookies, my mistake.  Yep.  He ate nearly the whole plate.  I had to remind him that I cannot eat his cookies – the delicious Pepperidge Farm Milanos and Chocolate Chunk ones he teases me with after dinner.  I can eat these.  Therefore,  MY cookies.  Yes, I am being the cookie nazi here.  I want a god damn cookie to eat, okay? Got it?  Now that that’s settled, I want to show you my happy pigs.

They hang right in front of my workspace, adding color to the blah, white walls.  They look so content.  I’m sure they’re showing their satisfaction with my improving kitchen skills.  Right. That’s it.  I love my little piggy tools.  A little bit of piggy magic goes into each of my kitchen adventures.  You can find your own piggy helpers here.

I suggest you display them on the wall.  They’re way too cute to hide in a drawer.  You’ll be more likely to use them that way too.  Well, that can be said for me at least.  When they were tucked away in the utensil drawer, I never once used them.  I hung them on the wall and use them all the time.

 

Moving on from the Piggy Wiggy gadgets.  I want to hear from any of you that choose to make up the cookies above.  I’m still working on my cookie skills, so any advice is appreciated!  Too gritty?  Too sweet?  Too crumbly?  Too crunchy?  Let me know!

I wish you a Thrilling Thursday.  Get out there, look for adventure.  Enrich your life.

Ciao!

Leave a message!

