Wine, Oh Wine, You’re So Divine

I love wine.  Real wine.  Not box wine.  Mostly red wine.

Maybe it’s my Italian genes.  Maybe it’s the mouthfeel of a full-bodied merlot.

Whatever the case may be, I love wine.

So, to honor the beloved drink, I am starting a wine post – Wednesday Wines.  Today marks the first post of my weekly wine review.

This is a joint review, boasting opinions from myself as well as from Dustin, my partner in crime.

What wine is on review today?

The Frenchhouse

Type: Syrah

Vintage: 2008

We (Dustin and I), buy our wine at the local Shaw’s.  I’m not a fan of Shaw’s, but they do have a good wine selection, surprisingly.  The wines that have earned Wine Spectator points and other distinguished awards are tagged with the points earned and award won.  We tend to purchase these wines.  When we’re looking to splurge on a bottle (splurge = greater than $15), we’ll buy the top shelf bottles with vintage 2005 to 2007.  2007’s under $20 are hard to find these days.

What drew us to the Frenchhouse Syrah?  The 85 point Wine Spectator tag.  The vintage 2008 earned 85 points and Silver Medal at the San Diego International Wine Competition.

What did we think of the wine?

First thoughts: Smooth.  Very smooth.

Medium-bodied, full mouthfeel without the harsh notes at the back of the throat.

Hints of herbs.  Slightly peppery.

Bottle says “notes of currant, dark chocolate and wild herbs…”  I’m not so good at picking out individual flavors yet.  I did taste raspberry flavors (stemming from the currant?).

Final thoughts: An excellent choice.  A great hanging out wine (not so sure I should be admitting that I hang out with wine).   A perfect wine for cheese.

You can read more about the Frenchhouse Syrah here.

Be on the lookout for Wednesday Wines next Wednesday, May 2.

Until then, godetevi il vostro vino (enjoy your wine)!

Ciao!

Leave a message!

