Springtime Beauty

What events mark the movement into Spring for you?

Sitting here today, I am reminded of the season by the bird families nested in the trees beyond the window, chirping songs back and forth.  So pretty.  The fields of dandelions scattered along VT’s Route 2 are hard to beat as far as memories of Spring.  The fields become overwhelmingly yellow, a welcome change, however from the mud brown the melted snow leaves behind.  With the last few rain showers, the trees have blossomed and the flowers bloomed.  The area has brightened incredibly.  Today I am reminded of the beauty Spring is capable of.

What does one enjoy on a lovely Spring afternoon?  Well, a fruit smoothie of course! I rarely make smoothies.  Why?

  1. There’s rarely fruit in the house other than apples and bananas and frankly, I don’t enjoy apples or bananas in my fruit drinks.
  2. My blender is wonderful, but huge.  Cleaning the monstrosity takes much more effort than I’m usually willing to put in to a smoothie.
  3. I really enjoy picking up smoothies made by others – at the Co-op, the mall, the farmer’s market – they’re delicious without the hassle.

But, today I had fruit.  Dustin graduated college this past weekend (Yay, Dustin!) and of course, a party followed.  What will you find at my parties?  Fruits and vegetables.  I am a nutrition major after all.  I had hollowed out a watermelon for a certain adult cocktail and had half a watermelon worth of fruit scraps.  I couldn’t serve the watermelon that came out of the bowl in the shape it was in (I basically tore it out with my hands and a fork).  What are you supposed to do with a bunch of scraggly looking watermelon pieces?  I froze them.  I also froze the leftover strawberries and raspberries.

We’re in the process of moving, so post-graduation we packed up our bags and all the perishable foods in the house  and headed to my friend Brittney’s for the week.  Today I discovered that Brittney has a  Bella Cucina blender that very much resembles a Magic Bullet (we’re talking blenders here).  Hmmm…. frozen fruit and a small, manageable blender.  Guess what comes next?

A mix of watermelon, strawberries, blueberries and raspberry, blended together with cranberry juice and flax seed.  Delish.


Super Fruit Smoothie*

  • 1/4 cup frozen watermelon chunks
  • 2 large frozen strawberries
  • a handful of frozen blueberries
  • a few frozen raspberries
  • 1 T ground flax seed
  • 3/4 cup cranberry juice
  1. Mix all ingredients in a blender. 
  2. Blend until smooth.

* all measurements are approximate

Tips:

  • Fresh fruit may be substituted for any frozen fruit, but will result in a more liquid smoothie
  • This smoothie came out VERY thick, so more juice may be desired
  • Any fruit juice can be substituted for the cranberry juice – try what you like!

With Spring here, and summer very near, I’m making it a goal to blend up smoothies more often.  Like this one, they’re generally simple, healthy, and delicious.  Too good to ignore.

If you read through the recipe, you’ll notice I used flax seed.  I’ve never used flax seed in any of my meals before so I was unsure what to expect.  The seed provided texture, substance, and flavor.  One tablespoon worked perfectly.  The smoothie acquired a bit of a fibrous flavor, but wasn’t gritty.  Overall, a success addition. 

What out-of-the-ordinary ingredients do you add to your smoothies?

2 thoughts on “Springtime Beauty

  1. That came out a pretty color! I made strawberry smoothies for breakfast this morning with tofu, strawberries, ice cream (gasp!) and soy milk… we were running a bit low on smoothie ingredients (fresh fruit/yogurt) so I just cleaned out whatever we had left! It came out a bit like a shake, but still was delicious! P.S- How long are you guys at Brittney’s again? I want a girls night!

Leave a message!

