Wednesday Wines…on Thursday?

I know, I know… I neglected to post a new wine last week.  Please forgive me.  With one already missed, I HAD to post this week.  I was so eager to.  We opened up a new bottle last night, sat down to taste it, take notes on it, and then enjoy it together.  I had my computer open to the blog page with the notes sitting right there in front of it.  Then, of course, I got distracted.  And tipsy.  The bottle was empty, it was after midnight and I was getting sleeping.  So, clearly, Wednesday Wines was postponed once again.  I sincerely apologize.  But! I am here, writing about Wednesday Wines on Thursday for your enjoyment.  So please read on and learn about one delicious wine we were lucky to try.

Gascon

Type: Malbec

Vintage: 2010

This wine was gifted to Dustin as a graduation present.  What a great pick.  Wine is always a gift-able product.

What did we think of the wine?

First thoughts: Smooth.  Mellow, but tasty.  Awesome.

Full-bodied without harsh tannins.

Light on the nose – scents of fruit, rather than the oak we’re used to.

Tastes of berries and subtle hints of cherry.

Cherry lingers for a while on the tongue.

Final thoughts:  A really nice wine.  Very easy to drink.  Lots of flavor, full-bodied mouth-feel, but mellow sensations on the back of the throat.  We will definitely be trying this one again.

You can read more about Gascon’s Malbec here.

If you’re grilling up some tasty red meat or having a pasta party anytime soon, I suggest you try out this wine.

I will try very, very hard for a Wednesday Wine next week.  Really.  I will start posting these things on time.

Until then, godetevi il vostro vino!

Leave a message!

