Gluten-Free Glory

I’ve been gluten-free for almost two weeks, and I’m finding it enjoyable more often than not.  I love kitchen-time, so the need to start crafting my own bread and cookies and such is wonderful.  The next time my wallet gets flooded with money, I will be able to start experimenting with different flours and leavening agents and thickeners.  Until then, I’m sticking with basic, highly reviewed recipes.


Recipe 1: Tapioca Waffles.  Verdict?  Delicious.

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup buttermilk (Kate’s Real Buttermilk)
  • ¼ cup EVOO
  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • ½ cup tapioca flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Beat egg whites to form stiff peaks, set aside.
  2. Mix egg yolks with buttermilk and oil.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix dry ingredients.
  4. Pour wet mixture into dry and mix.
  5. Fold in egg whites with a rubber spatula.
  6. Bake in an oiled waffle iron.

TIPS:

  • The recipe provided by Ener-G is very bland and makes for an excellent base. I would add some brown sugar or honey to the batter if using the recipe for breakfast waffles, or add some white sugar to the egg whites after stiff peaks develop. 
  • Next time I think I might add some shredded fresh parmesan and garlic for a savory lunch waffle.
  • Cooking for my wee self, 9 waffles was a bit many, but do not fear, I discovered extras can be frozen! Stick them in the freezer and pop in the toaster for breakfast.  

What I’m not finding enjoyable: whipping up treats I think are gluten-free to find out soon after indulging that they aren’t (I’m sorry tummy).

For all of you gluten lovers, these are delicious:


Recipe 2: Peanut butter Applesauce No-Bakes.  Verdict?  Delicious (but if making gf, be sure to use gf oats!)

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  1. Line a baking sheet with waxed paper, foil, or a silicone baking mat.
  2. In a medium saucepan, combine sugar, cocoa powder, applesauce, milk, and peanut butter. Stirring constantly, cook over medium-high heat and bring to a boil; boil for 2 minutes.
  3. Add the oats and continue to stir; cook for 1 minute.
  4. Remove from heat and immediately drop by rounded tablespoon onto prepared pan.
  5. Place pan in refrigerator to cool faster.
  6. Store in an air-tight container in refrigerator.

Now I’m off to open the bottle of Chateau Ste Michelle sitting on the table.  I’ll befriend this lovely merlot as I whip up some blue-cheese mashed potatoes and brown-sugar glazed carrots to go with our Chuck-Eye Roast for dinner.

Happy Saturday evening!

1 thought on “Gluten-Free Glory

Leave a message!